Bicep share new single ‘Apricots’ and announce album ‘Isles’, out 22 January 2021


2021 already sounding positive, with a new album from Bicep due on 22 January. Two years in the making, ‘Isles’ is the follow up to the Belfast duo’s hugely acclaimed self-titled debut. 

They describe “Isles” as “a snapshot in time” of their work in this period, with the tracks designed to evolve in their different iterations from record to live show and beyond. “This is definitely the home listening version,” says Matt, “the live version will be much, much harder”. 

From those early days living and clubbing in Belfast, and particularly following their move to London over a decade ago, the breadth of music they’ve been exposed to during this time directly informs “Isles’” massive sonic palette.

On the title, “We have strong mixed emotions, connected to growing up on an island” they say, “wanting to leave, wanting to return”. For two natives of Belfast, any talk of islands, communities and identities will also have other, more domestic connotations, and has always been an aspect of their lives they’d been reluctant to talk about.  

“We’re not religious, but we’re both from different religious backgrounds. There was always a lot of interest in us talking about those issues, but we always felt that one of the things we loved about dance music was that freedom it gave you to be released from talking about those things.” Says Matt.

“Isles” is released physically & digitally on January 22nd 2021. The album’s striking, explosive artwork is by Studio Degrau, creators of the iconic imagery for the duo’s first album.

“Isles” track-list:

1. Atlas     
2. Cazenove
3. Apricots
4. Saku (feat. Clara La San)
5. Lido
6. X (feat. Clara La San)
7. Rever (feat. Julia Kent)
8. Sundial
9. Fir
10. Hawk (feat. machìna)