girl in red unveils plain-spoken pop song ‘You Stupid Bitch’


girl in red, aka Marie Ulven, has shared ‘You Stupid Bitch’, another fiery cut from her eagerly anticipated debut album “if i could make it go quiet”, out April 30th.

‘You Stupid Bitch’, the follow-up to ‘Serotonin’, was inspired by a complicated friendship that the Norwegian singer-producer wished could have been something more. 

Don’t bite your lip or grit your teeth
Just count to ten and try to breathe
You stupid bitch, can’t you see
The perfect one for you is me?

Girl In Red – You Stupid Bitch

Speaking about her latest single, girl in red explains: “There’s this line from this movie I love, The Perks of Being a Wallflower that goes ‘we accept the love we think we deserve.’ It’s a very heartbreaking line, but it’s really what I was experiencing in this situation, where I was always there for this person who would get their heart broken, and I would just come running. I would drop everything just to be there for them.

That person would never see me as anything else than just a friend, even though I feel like I could’ve made her so happy… The core essence of this track is like, I’m obviously here for you, and I want to be with you, but you keep messing around with other people, and you keep getting broken. It’s this really direct, straightforward track.”

‘You Stupid Bitch’ is the song from the album she’s most excited to play live on her upcoming sold out UK & European tour. “When live shows are back, I don’t think I’m going to make it out of that mosh pit alive! It’s gonna be crazy!”   

See the full track-list to if i could make it go quiet here:

  1. Serotonin
  2. Did You Come?
  3. Body And Mind
  4. hornylovesickmess
  5. midnight love
  6. You Stupid Bitch
  7. Rue
  8. Apartment 402
  9. .
  10. I’ll Call You Mine
  11. it would feel like this