Mac DeMarco, Anna of The North & more for Iceland Airwaves 2019


Iceland’s longest running music festival moves into its third decade with a fresh and revitalised mission. The world’s northernmost new music showcase looks ahead to inviting over 6,000 international visitors on 6-9 November 2019.

The first names revealed this year include Mac DeMarco, who returns for the first time since releasing the seminal 2 LP in 2012. Alongside Reykjavík’s Hatari, who are in the running to fly the flag for Iceland in the Eurovision Song Contest in May.

Chicago country-soul band Whitney will be heading halfway across the Atlantic, whilst GDRN, Matthildur, Hildur and Vök represent the forefront of soulful, synth led Icelandic pop.

Heavenly Records’ Cardiff-based outfit Boy Azooga and South London’s post-punk outfit Shame provide a heavy dose of rock from the UK, pitting riffs against Icelandic hardcore 6-piece Une Misère, the punk favourites Grísalappalísa and black metal atmospheres of Auðn.

Norway offer the best of their thriving electro pop exports with the soul baring sounds of Anna of The North and Propeller Recordings’ hotly-tipped new signing Amanda Tenfjord.

Also adding to the first international acts, to take over the historic downtown area of Reykjavík for 4 days and nights, are Georgia (UK), Alexandra Stréliski (Canada), The Howl & The Hum (UK), Sons (Belgium), Murkage Dave (UK), Pavvla (ES) and The Garrys (UK).

Super early bird tickets have already sold out, with early bird tickets on sale now and travel packages from UK, Europe, US and Canada available.