shame announce November 2021 UK tour and new album ‘Drunk Tank Pink’


shame will embark on a November 2021 UK tour to celebrate the release of their new album ‘Drunk Tank Pink’, due on 15th Jan via Dead Oceans.

Check out the Pedro Takahashi directed video for the band’s latest single ‘Water in the Well’.

‘Drunk Tank Pink’ is described as a musical departure from shame’s hugely successful breakthrough debut album, ‘Songs Of Praise’.

A press release states: This creative leap was sparked by the band’s recent crash back down to earth, having spent their entire adult life on the road. It stems from their beginnings as wide-eyed teenagers, cutting their teeth in the pubs and small venues of South London, to becoming the most celebrated new band in Britain.

Readjusting to a new normal back home with – for the first time since the band’s formation – no live shows on the horizon, frontman Charlie Steen attempted to party his way out of psychosis. “When you’re exposed to all of that for the first time you think you’re fucking indestructible,” he notes. “After a few years you reach a point where you realise everyone needs a bath and a good night’s sleep sometimes.”

“You become very aware of yourself and when all of the music stops, you’re left with the silence,” reflects Steen. “And that silence is a lot of what this record is about.”

“The common theme when I was catching up with my mates was this identity crisis everyone was having,” reflects Steen. “No one knows what the fuck is going on.”

“It didn’t matter that we’d just come back off tour thinking, ‘How do we deal with reality!?’” agrees guitarist Sean Coyle-Smith. “I had mates that were working in a pub and they were also like, ‘How do I deal with reality!?’ Everyone was going through it.”

Coyle-Smith took a different tac to Steen and barricaded himself in his bedroom. Barely leaving the house and instead obsessively deconstructing his very approach to playing and making music, he picked apart the threads of the music he was devouring (Talking Heads, Nigerian High Life, the dry funk of ESG, Talk Talk…) and created work infused with panic and crackling intensity.

“For this album I was so bored of playing guitar,” he recalls, “the thought of even playing it was mind-numbing. So I started to write and experiment in all these alternative tunings and not write or play in a conventional ‘rock’ way.”

See the full list of dates for shame’s November 2021 UK tour below. Tickets go on sale next Friday, 15th January, at 10am.

09 – Tramshed, Cardiff
10 – The Mill, Birmingham
12 – Electric Brixton, London
13 – Electric Brixton, London
15 – CHALK, Brighton
16 – Waterfront, Norwich
17 – Leadmill, Sheffield
19 – Beckett’s, Leeds
20 – QMU, Glasgow
21 – Boiler Shop, Newcastle
23 – Junction, Cambridge
24 – O2 Ritz, Manchester
25 – Arts Club, Liverpool
26 – SWX, Bristol